Women’s Premier League: Delhi Capitals in Final

In recent years, women’s cricket has gained significant attention and popularity, and the sport has seen tremendous growth worldwide. The women’s cricket team has been working tirelessly, preparing for the World Cup with rigorous training and practice sessions. The team has been putting in its best efforts to ensure that they are fully prepared and ready to take on the world’s best teams.

The Women’s Premier League in Cricket India is set to kick off its inaugural season with much anticipation and excitement. The session of this league started from 4th March to 26th March 2023. The league, modeled after the IPL, has 5 teams playing 22 matches at Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

Sourav Ganguly, the BCCI President, planned to establish a women’s IPL to replace the Women’s T20 Challenge. In October,  the BCCI announced, they were considering holding a five-team tournament in March 2023. The BCCI officially renamed the Women’s Indian Premier League as the Women’s Premier League.

Five Teams of Women’s Premier League

Gujarat Giants

Mumbai Indians

Royal Challengers Bangalore

UP Warriorz

Delhi Capitals

These Five teams will initially compete in a double round robin format. The top three proceeding to the playoffs based on points.

Women’s cricket enthusiasts expect that the Women’s Premier League will change the game for women’s cricket in India. It will provide a professional platform for female cricketers, which will help them to improve their skills and gain exposure. The league will also help to create a pool of talented players, which will benefit the Indian women’s cricket team in the future.

The WPL’s impact extends beyond the cricket pitch, challenging traditional gender roles and empowering more women to pursue their dreams in sports. The tournament’s success has the potential to create a more inclusive and equitable future for the sport in the country. The WPL is expected to draw interest from investors and sponsors. Help in creating revenue streams for women’s cricket in India and generating job opportunities in management and promotion.

Moreover, BCCI has awarded TATA Group the title sponsorship rights for WPL seasons 2023-2027, during which TATA Group will promote its flagship brands TATA Capital and TATA Motors.

Delhi Capitals gained revenge on Mumbai India with a dominant 9-wicket.  It has boosted their chances of direct qualification for the final by overtaking MI on net run rate.

Delhi Capitals’ win secured top spot in the points table and a spot in the Women’s Premier League final. Mumbai Indians temporarily topped the table with a win over Royal Challengers. UP and Mumbai will face off in the eliminator on March 24, and the winner will meet Delhi in the final on March 26.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *